Congratulations to our 2017 women candidates

We are proud of the strength and breadth of the 2017 Women Candidates list.

The number and quality of female prospective parliamentary candidates standing in 2017 are a testament in part to the concerted efforts within the party to the improve diversity of our approved and selected candidates. Mostly, however, it demonstrates the power and strength of liberal democratic women around the UK in coming forward to stand for the party and what they believe in. It signals great things still to come from this 2017 cohort, both for this election and for the party more generally.

The #LevelUpLibDems intiative is encouraging volunteers to make time to support target seats, but by providing the full list of female candidates we want to recognise their contribution which is also crucial. The liberal democrats offer the best opportunity for good government and fair society. Only by building our presence and activities up in seats across the board will we have the chance to offer that opportunity nationally to provide robust opposition and governance. Seat development is vital; it gives people a choice to vote with their liberal principles and it gives us a chance to work in seats to make them winnable. Every woman on this list is key in driving forward their seat not just up to the 8th of June, but to 2022 and beyond.

Congratulations to them all, and we look forward to working alongside you in the next weeks, months and years.

Flo Clucas, Alice Thomas, Candy Piercy, Julia Cambridge and Kat Bavage



Name Contact
 Aberconwy  Sarah Lesiter-Burgess
 Aberdeen North  Isobel Davidson
 Aberdeen South  Jenny Wilson  
 Altrincham and Sale West  Jane Brophy
 Amber Valley  Kate Smith  
 Arundel and South Downs  Shweta Kapadia
 Ashton  Carly Hicks
 Barking  Pauline Pearce
 Barnsley East  Nicola Turner  
 Barrow and Furness  Loraine Birchall
 Basildon and Billericay  Antonia Harrison
 Bath  Wera Hobhouse
 Beckenham  Julie Ireland
 Berwick  Julie Porksen
 Berwickshire, Roxbrough & Selkirk  Caroline Burgess
 Bexleyheath and Crayford_  Simone Reynolds
 Birmingham Erdington  Ann Holtom
 Blackpool North  Susan Close
 Bolton West  Rebecca Forrest
 Brentwood and Ongar  Karen Chilvers
 Brighton Kemptown  Emily Tester  
 Bristol NW  Celia Downie
 Bury St Edmunds  Helen Korfanty
 Caerphilly  Kathryn David
 Calder Valley  Janet Battye
 Cardiff Central  Eluned Parrott
 Cardiff South  Emma Sands  
 Carms East & Dinefwr  Lesley Prosser
 Chelsea and Fulham  Louise Rowntree
 Chester  Elizabeth Jewkes
 Chingford and Woodford Green  Deborah Unger  
 Chippenham  Helen Belcher
 Chipping Barnet  Marisha Ray
 Christchurch and East Dorset  Lisa Northover
 Cities of London and Westminster  Bridget Fox
 City of Durham  Amanda Hopgood
 Copeland  Rebecca Hanson
 Croydon Central  Ghislaine Hickson
 Croydon South  Anna Jones
 Cynon  Nicola Knight
 Darlington  Anne-Marie Curry
 Denton and Reddish  Louise Ankers
 Derby North  Lucy Care
 Doncaster Central  Alison Brelsford
 Dulwich and West Norwood  Gail Kent
 Dumfires and Galloway  Joan Mitchell
 Dundee West  Jenny Blain
 Ealing North  Humaira Sanders  
 East Devon  Alison Watkins  
 East Dunbartonshire  Joanne Swinson  
 East Lothian  Elisabeth Wilson  
 East Renfrewshire  Aileen Morton
 Edinburgh South West  Aisha Mir
 Edinburgh West  Christine Jardine
 Enfield Southgate  Pippa Morgan
 Exeter  Vanessa Newcombe
 Feltham and Heston  Hina Malik
 Filton and Bradley Stoke  Eva Fielding
 Folkestone and Hythe  Lynne Beaumont
 Forest of Dean  Janet Ellard
 Gainsborough  Lesley Rollings
 Garston and Halewood  Anna Martin  
 Glasgow Central  Isabel Nelson
 Glenrothes  Rebecca Grint
 Grantham and Stamford  Anita Day
 Guildford  Zoe Franklin
 Hammersmith  Joyce Onstad
 Hampstead & Kilburn  Kirsty Allan
 Harrogate and Knaresborough  Helen Flynn
 Hazel Grove  Lisa Smart  
 Hemel Hempsted  Sally Symington  
 Hemsworth  Joan Mary Macqueen
 Henley  Laura Coyle
 Hereford and South Herefordshire  Lucy Hurds
 Hereforshire North  Jeanie Falconer
 Hexham  Fiona Hall
 Hornsey and Wood Green  Dawn Barnes
 Horsham  Morwen Millson
 Hove  Caroline Hynds
 Hull West and Hessle  Claire Thomas  
 Kensington  Annabel Mullin
 Kettering  Suzanna Austin
 Kilmarnock & loudon  Irene Lang
 Kingswood  Karen Wilkinson  
 Lewes  Kelly-Marie Blundell
 Lewisham East  Emily Frith
 Lincoln  Caroline Kenyon
 Linlithgow & Falkirk East  Sally Pattle
 Louth and Horncastle  Lisa Gabriel
 Ludlow  Heather Kidd
 Maidstone and Weald  Emily Fermor
 Maldon  Zoe O'Connell
 Manchester Gorton  Jackie Pearcey
 Mansfield  Anita Prabhakar
 Mid Bedfordshire  Lisa French
 Mid Dorset and North Poole  Vikki Slade  
 Mid Norfolk  Fionna Tod  
 Mid Sussex  Sarah Osborne
 Mid Worcestershire  Margaret Rowley
 Milton Keynes North  Imogen Shepherd-Dubey  
 Mitcham & Morden  Claire Mathys
 Monmouth  Veronica German
 Montgomeryshire  Jane Dodds
 Motherwell & Wishaw  Yvonne Finlayson
 Newbury  Judith Bunting
 Newcastle East  Wendy Taylor  
 Newcastle Upon Tyne North  Anita Lower
 Newport West  Sarah Lockyer
 Newton Abbott  Marie Jenkins
 North East FIfe  Elizabeth Riches
 North East Hertfordshire  Nicole Shepard  
 North East Somerset  Manda Rigby
 North Herefordshire  Jeannie Matthew Falconer
 North Swindon  Elizabeth Webster  
 North West Cambridgeshire  Bridget Smith  
 Northampton South  Jill Hope
 Oxford East  Kirsten Johnson
 Oxford West and Abingdon  Layla Moran
 Paisley and Renfrewshire  Eileen Mccartin
 Pennistone and Stockbridge  Penny Baker
 Peterborough  Rebeka Sellick  
 Plymouth, Sutton and Devonport  Henrietta Bewley
 Poplar and Limehouse  Elaine Bagshaw
 Reading East  Jenny Woods  
 Reading West  Meri O'Connell
 Redditch  Susan Juned
 Reigate  Anna Tarrant  
 Rhondda  Karen Roberts
 Richmond Park  Sarah Olney
 Romsey and Southampton North  Catherine Royce
 Ross, Skye and Lochaber  Jean Davis
 Rother Valley  Katie Pruszynski
 Rushcliffe  Jayne Phoenix
 Sherwood  Rebecca Thomas  
 Shipley  Caroline Jones
 Shrewsbury and Atcham  Hannah Fraser
 South Cambridgeshire  Susan Van De Ven  
 South Derbyshire  Lorraine Johnson
 South East Cambridgeshire  Lucy Nethsingha 
 South Holland and the Deepings  Julia Cambridge
 South Norfolk  Jacqueline Howe
 South Shields  Gitanjali Gordon
 South Staffordshire  Hilary Myers
 South West Devon  Caroline Voaden  
 Southampton Itchen  Eleanor Bell
 Southend West  Lucy V Salek  
 Southport  Sue McGuire
 Spelthorne  Rosie Shimell  
 St Albans  Daisy Cooper
 Stevenage  Barbara Gibson
 Stirling  Wendy Chamberlain
 Stockton North  Sarah Brown
 Stratford on Avon  Elizabeth Adams
 Stretford and Urmston  Anna Fryer
 Surrey Heath  Ann-Marie Barker
 Sutton and Cheam  Amna Ahmad
 Sutton Coldfield  Jenny Wilkinson  
 Tamworth  Jennifer Pinkett
 Telford  Susan King  
 Tewkesbury  Caitriona Clucas
 Thirsk and Malton  Dinah Keal
 Thornbury and Yate  Claire Young  
 Tunbridge Wells  Rachel Sadler
 Uxbridge  Rosina Robson 
 Vale of Glamorgan  Jennifer Geroni
 Walsall North  Isabelle Parasram
 Walsall South  Anna Wellings Purvis  
 Wansbeck  Joan Tebbutt  
 Waveney  Jacqueline Howe
 Wells  Tessa Munt
 Wentworth & Dearne  Janice Middleton
 West Bromwich East  Karen Trench
 West Bromwich West  Flo Clucas 
 West Dunbartonshire  Rebecca Plenderleith
 West Lancashire  Joanne Barton
 West Suffolk  Elfreda Tealby-Watson  
 Winchester  Jackie Porter
 Witham  Josephine Hayes
 Witney  Liz Leffman
 Wolverhampton South West  Sarah Quarmby
 Worsley and Eccles  Kate Clarkson
 Worthing West  Hazel Thorpe  
 Wrexham  Carole O'Toole
 Yeovil  Joanna Roundell-Greene
 Ynys Môn  Sarah Jackson

Do you know a missing contact detail? Or wish to provide an alternative?

Please get in touch via

Share this post on social media:

Sign in with Facebook, Twitter or Email.